- Can you hit an opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
- Can you combo off opponents ball?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you don’t call the 8 ball?
- Can you combo off the eight ball in pool?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- Can you hit an opponent’s ball into the 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Can you hit an opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first.
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table.
If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).
You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole..
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Can you use opponent’s ball in pool?
Yes, when your cue ball make contact with your own object ball, it can make contact with opponent object ball. … For 9-ball, as long as the lowest numbered ball is contacted first and any object that is potted by chance will be deemed legal shot and you can continue to pot the next object ball.
Can you combo off opponents ball?
You hit the 1 ball (solid) first, it hits the 9 ball (stripe) that hits the 2 ball into the called corner pocket. … Yes, you can use your opponent’s ball as the middle ball of a three ball combo.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Do you lose if you don’t call the 8 ball?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Can you combo off the eight ball in pool?
Combination shots are legal shots, but you can never use the 8-ball as the first contacted ball. In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch. An error occurred.
Can you hit an opponent’s ball into the 8 ball?
Yes, you can aim directly at your opponent’s ball and sink it, but you will lose your turn. You might do this if your opponents ball is blocking a pocket and your balls are so close to the blocked pocket as to make if nearly impossible to pocket your balls into that pocket.
What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?
Sinking one of the opponent’s balls as a side-effect of a shot is ignored. Sinking one of your own on a deliberate foul is at least punished as a foul with ball in hand.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.